List of Assyrian kings
King name Reigned Notes
Erishum I fl. ca. 1800 BC (short) "son of Ilu-shuma"; contemporary of Samu-la-El of Babylonia; said to have built the temple of Ashur
(30 or 40 years)
Ikunum (damaged text) "son of Ilushuma"
Sargon I (damaged text) "son of Ikunum"
Puzur-Ashur II (damaged text) "son of Sargon (I)"
Naram-Suen (damaged text) "son of Puzur-Ashur (II)"
Erishum II (damaged text) "son of Naram-Suen"
Shamshi-Adad I fl. ca. 1700 BC (short) "son of (local ruler) Ila-kabkabu, went to Karduniash in the time of Naram-Suen. In the eponymy of Ibni-Adad, Shamshi-Adad went up from Karduniash. He took Ekallatum, where he stayed three years. In the eponymy of Atamar-Ishtar, Shamshi-Adad went up from Ekallatum. He ousted Erishum (II), son of Naram-Suen, from the throne and took it."; He was in turn conquered by Hammurabi of Babylon.
(33 years)
Ishme-Dagan I (40 years) "son of Shamshi-Adad (I)"
Mut-Ashkur (unknown) son of Ishme-Dagan I, married to a Hurrian queen; not included in the standard King List, but attested elswhere[11]
Remu... (unknown) included in the alternative King List fragment, last part of name lost; not included in the standard King List[11]
Asinum (unknown) grandson of Shamshi-Adad I, driven out by vice-regent Puzur-Suen because he was of foreign extraction; not included in the standard King List, but attested in Puzur-Suen's inscription[11]
Seven usurpers: (6 years) "Ashur-dugul, son of a nobody, who had no title to the throne, ruled for 6 years, then dies an killed himself for being assyrian. In the time of Ashur-dugul, son of a nobody, Ashur-apla-idi, Nasir-Suen, Suen-namir, Ipqi-Ishtar, Adad-salulu, and Adasi, six sons of nobodies, ruled at the beginning of his brief reign."
Bel-bani (10 years) "son of Adasi"
Libaya (17 years) "son of Bel-bani"
Sharma-Adad I (12 years) "son of Libaya"
Iptar-Suen (12 years) "son of Sharma-Adad (I)"
Bazaya (28 years) "son of Iptar-Suen"
Lullaya (6 years) "son of a nobody"
Shu-Ninua (14 years) "son of Bazaya"
Sharma-Adad II (3 years) "son of Shu-Ninua"
Erishum III (13 years) "son of Shu-Ninua"
Shamshi-Adad II (6 years) "son of Erishum (III)"
Ishme-Dagan II (16 years) "son of Shamshi-Adad (II)"
Shamshi-Adad III (16 years) " son of (another) Ishme-Dagan, brother of Sharma-Adad (II), son of Shu-Ninua"
Ashur-nirari I (26 years) "son of Ishme-Dagan"
Puzur-Ashur III (24 or 14 years) "son of Ashur-nirari (I)"; contemporary of Burna-Buriash I of Babylonia[3]
Enlil-nasir I (13 years) "son of Puzur-Ashur (III)"
Nur-ili (12 years) "son Enlil-nasir (I)"
Ashur-shaduni (1 month) "son of Nur-ili"
Ashur-rabi I (damaged text) "son of Enlil-nasir (I), ousted him (Ashur-shaduni), (and) seized the throne"
Ashur-nadin-ahhe I (damaged text) "son of Ashur-rabi (I)"
Enlil-nasir II ca. 1420–1415 BC (short) "his (Ashur-nadin-ahhe I's) brother, ousted him"
Ashur-nirari II ca. 1414–1408 BC (short) "son of Enlil-nasir (II)"
Ashur-bel-nisheshu ca. 1407–1399 BC (short) "son of Ashur-nirari (II)"
Ashur-rim-nisheshu ca. 1398–1391 BC (short) "son of Ashur-bel-nisheshu"
Ashur-nadin-ahhe II ca. 1390–1381 BC (short) "son of Ashur-rim-nisheshu"
Eriba-Adad I ca. 1380–1353 BC (short) "son of Ashur-bel-nisheshu"
Ashur-uballit I ca. 1353–1318 BC (short) "son of Eriba-Adad (I)"
Enlil-nirari ca. 1317–1308 BC (short) "son of Ashur-uballit"
Arik-den-ili ca. 1307–1296 BC (short) "son of Enlil-nirari"
Adad-nirari I ca. 1295–1264 BC (short) "son of Arik-den-ili"
Shalmaneser I ca. 1263–1234 BC (short) "son of Adad-nirari (I)"
Tukulti-Ninurta I ca. 1233–1197 BC (short) "son of Shalmaneser (I)"
Ashur-nadin-apli ca. 1196–1194 BC (short) "during the lifetime of Tukulti-ninurta (I), Ashur-nadin-apli, his son, seized the throne"
Ashur-nirari III ca. 1193–1188 BC (short) "son of Ashur-nadin-apli"
Enlil-kudurri-usur ca. 1187–1183 BC (short) "son of Tukulti-Ninurta (I)"
Ninurta-apal-Ekur ca. 1182–1180 BC (short) "son of Ila-Hadda, a descendant of Eriba-Adad (I), went to Karduniash. He came up from Karduniash (and) seized the throne."
Beginning with Ashur-Dan I, dates are consistent and not subject to middle/short chronology distinctions.
Ashur-Dan I ca. 1179–1133 BC "son of Ashur-nadin-apli"
Ninurta-tukulti-Ashur ca. 1133 BC "son of Ashur-dan (I), briefly"
Mutakkil-nusku ca. 1133 BC "his (Ninurta-tukulti-Ashur's) brother, fought him and took him to Karduniash. Mutakkil-Nusku held the throne briefly, then died."
Ashur-resh-ishi I ca. 1133–1115 BC "son of Mutakkil-Nusku"
Tiglath-Pileser I ca. 1115–1076 BC "son of Ashur-resh-ishi (I)"
Asharid-apal-Ekur ca. 1076–1074 BC "son of Tiglath-pileser (I)"
Ashur-bel-kala ca. 1074–1056 BC "son of Tiglath-pileser (I)"
Eriba-Adad II ca. 1056–1054 BC "son of Ashur-bel-kala"
Shamshi-Adad IV ca. 1054–1050 BC "son of Tiglath-pileser (I), came up from Karduniash. He ousted Eriba-Adad (II), son of Ashur-bel-kala, (and) seized the throne"
Ashur-nasir-pal I ca. 1050–1031 BC "son of Shamshi-Adad (IV)"
Shalmaneser II ca. 1031–1019 BC "son of Ashur-nasir-pal (I)"
Ashur-nirari IV ca. 1019–1013 BC "son of Shalmaneser (II)"
Ashur-rabi II ca. 1013–972 BC "son of Ashur-nasir-pal (I)"
Ashur-resh-ishi II ca. 972–967 BC "son of Ashur-rabi (II)"
Tiglath-Pileser II ca. 967–935 BC "son of Ashur-resh-ishi (II)"
Ashur-Dan II ca. 935–912 BC "son of Tiglath-Pileser (II)"
Adad-nirari II 912–891 BC "son of Ashur-Dan (II)"
Tukulti-Ninurta II 891–884 BC "son of Adad-nirari (II)"
Ashur-nasir-pal II 884–859 BC "son of Tukulti-Ninurta (II)"
Shalmaneser III 859–824 BC "son of Ashur-nasir-pal (II)"
Shamshi-Adad V 824–811 BC "son of Shalmaneser (III)"
Shammu-ramat, regent, 811–808 BC
Adad-nirari III 811–783 BC "son of Shamshi-Adad (V)"
Shalmaneser IV 783–773 BC "son of Adad-nirari (III)"
Ashur-Dan III 773–755 BC "son of Shalmaneser (IV)"; solar eclipse 763 BC[3]
Ashur-nirari V 755–745 BC "son of Adad-nirari (III)"
Tiglath-Pileser III 745–727 BC "son of Ashur-nirari (V)"
Shalmaneser V 727–722 BC "son of Tiglath-Pileser (III)"
End of the document known as Assyrian King List; the following kings reigned after the list had been composed.
Sargon II 722–705 BC co-regency with Shalmaneser V from 722–709 BC
Sennacherib 705–681 BC  
Esarhaddon 681–669 BC  
The dates of the last kings are not certain.
Ashurbanipal 669–between 631 and 627 BC  
Ashur-etil-ilani ca. 631–627 BC  
Sin-shumu-lishir 626 BC  
Sin-shar-ishkun ca. 627–612 BC fall of Nineveh
In 612 BC, Nineveh, the Assyrian capital, fell to the Medes and Babylonians; supported by the Egyptians, an Assyrian general continued to rule for a few years from Harran.
Ashur-uballit II 612 BC–ca. 609 BC Harran defeated by Nabopolassar of Babylonia